Membership of the Athletic Director Search Committee

April 18, 2013

Members of the Rutgers Community:

I am pleased to announce the membership of the search committee for a Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.  As noted in my earlier communication about the search, the committee will be co-chaired by alumna Kate Sweeney, Senior Vice President of Morgan Stanley, and Dick Edwards, executive vice president for academic affairs and interim chancellor of Rutgers-New Brunswick.

The search committee, with representation from our student body, faculty, staff, governing boards, and alumni, will be assisted by Parker Executive Search, one of the most highly respected athletics search firms in the nation.  I look forward to the committee’s recommendations and to appointing a new athletic director in the coming months.

Additional information will be posted as it becomes available on the Rutgers website.


Robert L. Barchi


Richard Edwards, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Co-chair

Kate Sweeney, Alumna, CC’79; Senior Vice President, Morgan Stanley, Co-chair

Stefania Balasa, Undergraduate Student; School of Arts and Sciences Class of 2014; Psychology and Exercise Science and Sport Studies

Dorothea Berkhout, Executive Director of Administration, Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Lauren Braswell, Alumna, DC ’07

Hollis Copeland, Member of the Board of Trustees

Steven Darien, Member of the Board of Trustees

Nydia Flores, Associate Professor, Graduate School of Education

Ronald Garutti, Member of the Board of Trustees

Cheryl Hart, Alumna, DC ’93; Senior Manager, University Budget

Denise Hover, Alumna, RC ’79

Ruth Anne Koenick, Director, Office for Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance

Jeffrey Longhofer, Director, Tyler Clementi Center at Rutgers; Associate Professor, School of Social Work

Jorge Marcone, Associate Professor, School of Arts and Sciences; Spanish & Portuguese

Daniel O'Connor, Chair, New Brunswick Faculty Council; Associate Professor, Library and Information Science

Shaun O'Hara, Alumnus, LC ’99, LC ’05

Jennifer O'Neill, Alumna, DC ’95, SCI ’03

Brian Perkins, Vice Chair, Board of Overseers

Ronald Quincy, Director, Center for Nonprofit Management and Governance; Lecturer, School of Social Work

Dudley Rivers, Chair, Board of Trustees

William Rodgers, Professor, Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Philip Scalo, Alumnus, RC ’75, NLAW ’78

Kenneth Schmidt, Member of the Board of Governors

Susan Schurman, Dean, School of Management and Labor Relations

Candace Straight, Member of the Board of Governors

Kathryn Uhrich, Dean of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences; Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Scott Walker, Executive Director, Academic Support Services for Student Athletes

Karen Stubaus, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Administration, Staff